Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What rheostat to choose for tuning base resistances?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What rheostat to choose for tuning base resistances?

First post here, so I apologize in advance if this has been covered elsewhere. I tried searching using multiple terms but never did find the proper thread, if it exists.

I'm slowly working my way through the project as outlined in the "Bedini SG - The Complete Beginner's Handbook" and am pleased with my progress thus far... my wheel is setup with its magnets and shaft, I've got my coil wound, and am putting the finishing touches on my circuit assembly (pictures coming... it looks really nice, if I do say so myself). And as soon as I relocate my little CNC router I'll get the stand done. But back to the subject....

I noticed from various YT videos that the SG kit includes a 12ohm 10w power resistor, a component that isn't shown in the "...Handbook". I've also seen suggested in several forum posts the use of a rheostat or pot to fine tune the operation which can then be removed and replaced with the appropriate sized power resistor once the optimal value is discovered. My question is what would be the best maximum recommended resistance for the rheostat to allow one to dial in that correct value? IE, when using the recommended 470ohm base resistors, is a typical value for that inline power resistor 50ohms or less, or 100ohms or less, or more??? I've got an order cooking at Mouser and was thinking about adding a 100ohm 12.5watt rheostat to it for this purpose, but since it's not a cheap part I'd rather insure that I get the one that will provide the proper range of adjustment. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated... and thanks for a great forum, there's a HUGE amount of knowledge stored here. I hope that i can add something meaningful to it one day soon.

<marv>

Hi marv, welcome aboard! I hope you enjoy the ride