Bipolar transistor matching

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bipolar transistor matching

I have found that hFE transistor matching with DDM is most inaccurate method for matching transistors, since working conditions are quite opposite of the DDM testing parameters, and yet, everyone here is probably using this method. Transistor matching depends on the several conditions: temperature, testing voltages, collector current, base current etc. so this is quite complex thing to do.

Since Mr John Bedini says that matching parts is most important ting for the best SSG operation, my intention is to open discussion upon this subject. Here is interesting site about it (I didn't try matching transistors yet, I was curious what everyone here will say about this subject, so I couldn't wait to make this thread). Transistor matching I will be glad if Mr John Bedini could give comments on this subject, because of his transistor testing background. Since I have no experience with oscilloscopes, can we match transistors by it - before making SSG circuit = in the shop?

Regards,
    cald

Originally posted by caldovicd View Post
    I have found that hFE transistor matching with DDM is most inaccurate method for matching transistors, since working conditions are quite opposite of the DDM testing parameters, and yet, everyone here is probably using this method. Transistor matching depends on the several conditions: temperature, testing voltages, collector current, base current etc. so this is quite complex thing to do.