Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bobs 1st 3D Project

Hello Group,
    I have been working on a new machine design in Fusion360 and I thought I would start a thread for this project.

This will be a nine pole mechanical setup. The coils are about 2 inches tall, it's a pretty small machine. Each frame upright accommodates 9 coils so the initial design can have up to 18 coils and then I could build it back with more uprights and a longer axle but I'm not sure if that will be necessary. The magnets are going to be in super-pole configuration on the front and maybe a genny setup on the back with wider magnets, haven't decided on it yet. I will most likely use SSR and reeds for the switching.

I have never used a 3D printer before so I am hoping I have not gone too overboard with the design. I plan to do it in ABS filament and use nylon bolts everywhere possible. My printer was supposed to already be ready but they sent me a kit instead of the assembled model I paid for so I had to send it back and they are shipping me the correct one Which should arrive sometime next week.

Here are some pictures from the design software:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Bobs 3D angle.JPG
Views:	1
Size:	47.9 KB
ID:	51378

Name:	Bobs 3D right.JPG
Size:	37.1 KB
ID:	51379

Name:	Bobs 3D top.JPG
Size:	43.9 KB
ID:	51380

Name:	Bobs 3D spool Mount.JPG
Size:	37.0 KB
ID:	51381

The last one is what I came up with for coil mounts, this was probably the hardest part to get right.

Well that's it for now, I will update as I make progress.
    Last edited by BobZilla; 04-22-2017, 08:45 PM.

I discovered when I did a full mock up that a few things needed adjustment.

Here is how it should basically look with all the parts.

Name:	Bobs 3D angle2.JPG
Size:	77.5 KB
ID:	49433

Name:	Bobs 3D right2.JPG
Size:	72.5 KB
ID:	49434

And I had to rework the spool holder

Name:	Bobs 3D spool Mount 2.JPG
Size:	36.0 KB
ID:	49435

Comment