Help with SG build..thanks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with SG build..thanks

First..thanks for this learning experience. I am a beginner in all this; built my circuit by the book and am now trying to trouble shoot why my trigger doesnt seem to be getting the trasistors to switch. Before I tear it apart and redo everything I was hoping find out a couple of things to rule out something I am not seeing. I see the plans called for C8 ceramic magnets 2x1x.5. All I could find were C8s that are 1 7/8'x 7/8"x 3/8". Should this slightly smaller magnet be ok to be showing some level of working? I did find a source for C11 magnets with the right dimensions but the strength seemed a bit much at 10 lbs; could C11 be used? Or should I be ok with what I have? My coil seems fine tested off the circuit with no shorts and produces good magnetism. I did remove two trasistors form the circuit and rechecked for gain and they were good. Any ideas anyone has would be appreciated! And thanks to John Bedini for providing this learning experience.

try switching your trigger wire polarity, switch which side of the circuit they are attached to.

Tom C

experimental Kits, chargers and solar trackers

Comment

Thanks..but no different switching the trigger wire polarity...so the magnets I have should be ok? Im afraid I might have messed up a transistor but did remove two from circuit and they still measured the gain they had when I put them in. I did the transistor screening circuit and also did the 100 ohm resistors with the 1k pot to adjust. If the trasistors still have the gain they are supposed to, can the transistor still be bad in any way as far as switching? Thanks...I will probably rebuild the whole thing over if I cant find the problem!

Comment

can you post a picture of your setup? and of the board?

maybe whe can see the fault

regards
        weasel

Comment

Click image for larger version

Name:	w2[1].jpg
Views:	1
Size:	68.5 KB