Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bedini SG problem - Neon bulb lights once and nothing happens later.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bedini SG problem - Neon bulb lights once and nothing happens later.

Hi all,
    According to the "Bedini SG - The Complete Beginner's handbook":
    I have built a Bedini SG - simplified circuit on page 28 - the coil wound: 40m of 0.8mm - Plastic spool: 9.5cm x 9.5cm x 2cm, rods Inside, with all the components as listed.
    On the basic diagram, I have connected a neon bulb C/E of he transistor.
    When I connect 12v, I see just a light on the neon bulb and nothing happens without any rotation of the bicycle wheel. I don't hear any noise around the coil.
    I have also tried the circuit on page 62 with 2 batteries. The problem is similar.
    What's wrong ?
    Thank you in advance.
    AndBirch.

Probably to high a resistance on the trigger coil going to the base... Lessen the resistance value until neon goes out as the circuit is in self oscillation. Resistance values to make the machine run for initial testing choose somewhere around 50 Ohms and work your way up from there. Get a potentiometer to make adjustments easier.

Dave Wing

Comment

Thanks, I go forward, the space between the coil and the wheel has been reduced to less than 5mm. Now when I disconnect the charge battery, the bulb neon flashes normally, thus the whhel loose its speed and stops after a few rounds. There is no force to maintain the movement.
      The Wheel is a 26" with 18 magnets 20mm x 20mm x 60mm. Is the resistor value the possible cause also of that trouble ?
      TIA, AndBirch.

Comment