Oscilloscope advice and recommendations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oscilloscope advice and recommendations

Hi. I'd be grateful if any folk could give me some advice / recommendations on a suitable scope to buy. Ideally I'd like a digital scope that I can plug into my linux pc, which is capable of handling the high voltage spikes produced by the energiser. Also ideally it should be affordable, i.e. not more than £150 ($240). I've never used a scope before so this is a bit of a steep learning curve. All of the PC scopes I've come across so far, seem to be only capable of handling low voltages.

I'm keen to be able to record my signal, so if there is nothing out there that fits the above specs, could you please advise me on alternative ways to doing this, other than having a PC based scope, i.e. should I be looking for something with USB output?

Cheers ... Rob

Originally posted by Rob_Esq View Post
    Hi. I'd be grateful if any folk could give me some advice / recommendations on a suitable scope to buy. Ideally I'd like a digital scope that I can plug into my linux pc, which is capable of handling the high voltage spikes produced by the energiser. Also ideally it should be affordable, i.e. not more than £150 ($240). I've never used a scope before so this is a bit of a steep learning curve. All of the PC scopes I've come across so far, seem to be only capable of handling low voltages.

I'm keen to be able to record my signal, so if there is nothing out there that fits the above specs, could you please advise me on alternative ways to doing this, other than having a PC based scope, i.e. should I be looking for something with USB output?

Cheers ... Rob